Solidarity with Occupy Eugene

December 20, 2011
By

***UPDATE 12/23***

Occupy Eugene is currently working to clean up the park and is re-assembling in the park blocks for a General Assembly tonight.

***

Occupy Eugene is threatened with eviction tonight.

This is a press release from their website:

Occupy Eugene Responds to Eviction by City Council
December 20, 2011

Occupy Eugene is saddened by the City Council’s decision to evict protestors from Washington-Jefferson Park only 5 days before Christmas. The emergency meeting and decision to evict represents a clear betrayal of the collaborative relationship established between OE and the City.

This decision will serve as further motivation to protesters here in Eugene and around the country to continue to struggle against unjust laws and regulations that propagate social and economic injustice.

Occupy Eugene is grateful that some attempt was made to accommodate the immediate need for a safe place for homeless folks currently living at Washington Jefferson park by expanding car camping. However, this limited action will have little long-term impact on the problem of homelessness in Eugene and does nothing to replace the ability of the community to come together to solve its own problems.

Over the course of the occupation in Washington Jefferson Park, the citizens of Eugene, homeless and not, have created a community to address immediate problems and root causes of homelessness.

For the first time, many of Eugene’s homeless population have had a consistent safe place to sleep, three meals a day, medical care, job skills training, and a community to engage with based around mutual respect and equality. We invite the City of Eugene to take up a similar strategy in their attempts to address homelessness.

As was reiterated in the City Council meeting by Mayor Kitty Piercy, we hope that the eviction will happen peacefully without any force or violence. The official Occupy Eugene response to an eviction by the City of Eugene will be nonviolent.

The Occupation will continue with or without camp.


###

To join the chorus of voices opposing this eviction, contact Eugene City Hall and the police department:

Mayor Kitty Piercy      kitty.piercy@ci.eugene.or.us      541.682.5010

WARDS:
George Brown      george.r.brown@ci.eugene.or.us       541-682-834
Betty Tailor      betty.l.taylor@ci.eugene.or.us       541-338-9947
Alan Zelenka      alan.zelenka@ci.eugene.or.us       541-682-8343
George Poling      george.a.poling@ci.eugene.or.us        541-517-3110
Mike Clark      mike.clark@ci.eugene.or.us        541-682-8345
Pat Farr      pat.m.farr@ci.eugene.or.us        541-682-8346
Andrea Ortiz      andrea.f.ortiz@ci.eugene.or.us      541-688-5588
Chris Pryor     chris.e.pryor@ci.eugene.or.us         541-682-8348

Engage OPDX

Community Assembly
What's this?


April 2, 7:00 pm

99 Unite Civic Forum
What's this?


April 16, 7:00 pm

OPDX Office - 1131 SE Oak

OPDX Office

St. Francis, 1131 SE Oak
*Note: Office may be closed for events, lunch, emergencies

Please call: 971-258-1006
OPDX Info Team Site

E-Newsletter

* = required field

powered by MailChimp!